Blogs

ARTICLES & NEWS

BLOG

Stay ahead of others by reading the latest articles
 and news about your favorite book series and more.

-Emily Bex

Have you been to England at Christmas?

I had the opportunity to visit England on many occasions, and on every trip, I’d try to think about how I could manage to live there permanently. It’s such a magical country, but then I’d think about how cold it gets (very), and how rainy it is (very), and decide my home in Virginia was better suited for this girl who must wear socks to stay warm even in the summer!

I was a huge fan of the late Anne Rice…

I was a huge fan of the late Anne Rice. I not only loved her stories, but I loved her writing style. She managed to weave her personal experiences into her works of fantasy, and in doing so, made the work feel more real.

Welcome to the Medici palace...

As I’ve noted in previous newsletters, I have used cities that I have visited or lived in for locales in The Medici Warrior Series, so as I wrote about them, I could reference actual places and capture the feel and the history of that place.

The lovers’ bridge…

I wanted to update you on a location I used in The Medici Warriors. As I have mentioned before, all of the sites I included in The Medici Warrior Series (except for their fictional homes) are real places. If you visit any of these cities, you can walk in the characters’ footsteps in these books…until now!

What about Luca?

Luca is a secondary character in the series. A “supporting actor,” if you will. I wrote the series about Shade and Kate’s journey through this paranormal romance, and of course, I needed the readers to connect with them emotionally. However, when creating all the characters for The Medici Warrior Series, I didn’t anticipate my fans' response and attachment to some of these secondary characters!

Fact vs Fiction…

I listened to music on shuffle last week, and a song from Phantom of the Opera came on. It’s one of my favorite Broadway plays. I think I’ve seen it seven times, plus I have the DVDs of the movie and the stage play. It prompted me to make a Facebook post about the play, and many people responded with how much they, too, loved the story.

The Evolution of Shade

The creation of the primary character of Shade Medici was a collaborative effort. My friend Joanna had been a long-time fan fiction writer, who wrote with a group. She had a vision for a warrior vampire named Shade and had always wanted to work him into the fan fiction stories, but the group never felt there was a place for him. When she was encouraging me to write, and I had no idea what to write about, she suggested this character.

The Queen Takes Her Reign

Powerful King Shade Medici wants to expand his coven into the U.S. The Medici Queen proves she can hold her own beside her king, with an ability believed thought extinct. She also holds a power never seen in the vampire world. What will that mean to their kind? Not everyone is happy about the Medici plans to advance their hold on the States; namely, Max and his neighboring coven, and Rissa who’s envious of their lifestyle. Secrets will be revealed, old scores will be settled, and many will fall.

Readers and Fans!

Please vote for my book cover art on All Author to win “Cover of the Month”. This is the first round of the competition, and I must qualify in the top 100 covers to make it to the next round. Your support is greatly appreciated and will only take two clicks! https://allauthor.com/cover-of-the-month/6567/

It’s what you’ve been waiting for!

The Turning, Book Two in The Medici Warrior Series! Special release day pricing through Sunday, December 8th on both books one and two! Immortality beckons, but only if she can survive the turning. The Aries […]

Fall From Grace Cover Reveal

JR Ward and Laurell K. Hamilton fans will become enchanted with this deliciously dark and scandalous series by International Bestselling Author Emily Bex. It’s everything vampire romances should be made of! In Book Four […]

Interview with a Vampire (Author)

My interview with author T.K. Lawyer The incredible Emily Bex

Round 2 for January’s Cover of the Month

Readers and Fans of The Medici Warrior Series, Thanks for getting me into the top 100 covers for consideration for January’s Book Cover of the Month. In this next round, they will narrow down the […]

Vampires: From Monsters to Sex Symbols

For fans of vampire mythology, it has been an interesting transition over the years. The vampire has made the transition from monster to sex god, and what an interesting transition it has been. Most of […]

Is Bel Rosso Estates a Real Place?

Throughout the six-book Medici Warrior series, the reader will be introduced to the estate that Shade named after his pet name for Kate, Bel Rosso. Bell Rosso is Italian for beautiful red, and his tribute […]

The World of Vampire Fanfiction

What is fanfiction? Perhaps you are already familiar with it. Or, perhaps like me, you were like “fan what?” If you have read the first book in The Medici Warrior Series, The Blood Covenant, then […]

The Blood Suckers Vampire Blog

Read my interview on the Blood Suckers Vampire Blog! https://www.storytellerskgregory.com/blog/q-a-with-emily-bex

The Evolution of Luca

As I wrote the books, Luca emerged as one of my favorite characters. Luca is a Medici warrior, raised in the warrior camp in Florence, Italy since he was a young boy and personally trained by Shade [...]

The Evolution of Shannon

The reader meets Shannon in book one. She is mortal, and Kate’s best friend. They went to college together, and both secured jobs at the same advertising agency in Washington [...]

The Evolution of Rissa

Oh Rissa…how do I hate thee? Let me count the ways! Rissa is the character you love to hate. She appears in chapter one of book one, and my beta readers all hated her by the end of the first chapter. [...]

The Evolution of Kate

Kate’s character evolved after Shade was fully defined. Shade is described as tall, around 6’ 4” if my
memory serves! (It’s been a long time since book one was written) [...]

The Evolution of Larissa

Oh, Rissa…how do I hate thee? Let me count the ways! Rissa is the character you love to hate. She
appears in chapter one of book one, and my beta readers all hated her by the end of the first chapter [...]

The Evolution of Alec

Alec was one of the most complex characters to write. He is also the first character the reader meets in book one. While he is seen as an ally to Shade Medici, he is also an antagonist. I did not want to write him as overtly evil. [...]

The Evolution of Cory

Cory is a character who almost wasn’t. I can’t reveal his entire story here as it would be a spoiler for those who have yet to read The Medici Warrior Series, but I’ll tell you a little. [...]

The (almost) trip to Giverny...

Today I'm going to tell you a story. This isn't a fictional story but a true story from my travels. So, settle in with your cup of coffee, or hot tea, as this will take a while. As I have mentioned many times, I have had the privilege of traveling [...]

Medicis and Michelangelo

Although the Medici Warrior Series isn’t a historical novel, I did want the references to the actual Medicis to be historically accurate since I was writing about fictional people from a real family.[...]

MORE PLACES TO FOLLOW ME

© 2022 Emily Bex.